Joe Campbell - A Citizens Civic Award Winner


Joe Campbell - A Citizens Civic Award Winner

Photo: COMMUNITY CHAMPIONS: Honoured by Gisborne District Council with civic honours awards are (rear, from left), Toni Hale, Shanan Gray, Joe Campbell, Tony Scragg, Steve Evett, Noel Dunn, Dion Milner, Tony Kendrew, Chris Reynolds, Ron Heemi, Joy Putaranui, Roimata Waihi, Pare Kemara-Grace, Tom Crawford, (front, from left), Gillian Ward, Cynthia Sidney, Shona Martin, Robyn Dear, Sarah Kapene, Sue Evett, Mayor Rehette Stoltz, Janet Bodle, Pam Kay, Ruaiti Taipana and Lilly Stender. (Liam Clayton)

MORE than 20 Tairawhiti residents have been honoured by the Mayor for their contribution to the community.
Fifteen people were awarded a Citizens Civic Award in recognition of “exceptional voluntary services to the Gisborne district community” while another eight received merit certificates for being nominated.
“It was an absolute honour to award the Civic awards,” said Mayor Rehette Stoltz.
“The recipients are volunteers in our community working tirelessly to serve others.
“We are privileged to have so many community-minded, selfless people in our region. Warmest congratulations.” The Citizens Civic Award winners...

JOE CAMPBELL who initiated the rescue, restoration and ongoing running and maintenance of the Wa165 locomotive. It is estimated he has devoted over 30,000 hours over the last 16 years to all aspects of the Gisborne City Vintage Railway. He uses his electrical skills and knowledge to assist many other community organisations.            

[abridged version of original article]

Posted: Wednesday 2 December 2020


Tickets can be purchased from the i-Site Gisborne Information Centre in Grey Street (Ph: 06 868 6139). Any remaining tickets will be available for sale at the Gisborne Railway Station 30 minutes before departure.

Boarding the Train

The train leaves from the Gisborne Railway Station. Please arrive 15 minutes before the departure time shown.

Contact Us